Members of chlorophyceae enlist about 2000 species and many preferred in aquatic habitat, both marine and fresh water.  In 1935 Fritsch divided chlorophyceae into 9 orders: Volvocales, Chlorococcales, Ulotricales, Cladophorales,  Chaetophorales, Oedogoniales, Conjugales, Siphonales and Charales.
Example of green algae (Chlorophyceae)
Example of Chlorophyceae (Green algae)
1. Volvocales
     Examples: Chlamydomonas, Volvox, Palmella, Prasinocladus
2. Chlorococcales
     Examples: Chlorococcum, Chlorella, Westella, Pediastrum
3. Ulotricales
      Examples: Ulothrix, Ulva, Microspora, Prasiolas
4. Cladophorales
      Examples: Cladophora, Pithophora
5. Chaetophorales
       Examples: Cephaleuros, Oedocladium
6. Oedogoniales
      Examples: Oedogonium, Oedocladium
7. Conjugales
      Examples: Cylindrocystis, Spirogyra, Zygnema, Desmidium
8. Siphonales
     Examples: Protosiphon, Caulerpa,  Codium
9. Charales
     Examples: Chara, Nitella
Previous Post Next Post