This is the second largest animal phylum. Molluscs are terrestrial or aquatic (marine or fresh water) having an organ-system level of organisation. They are bilaterally symmetrical, triploblastic and coelomate animals. Body is covered by a calcareous shell and is unsegmented with a distinct head, muscular foot and visceral hump. A soft and spongy layer of skin forms a mantle over the visceral hump. The space between the hump and the mantle is called the mantle cavity in which feather like gills are present. They have respiratory and excretory functions. The anterior head region has sensory tentacles. The mouth contains a file-like rasping organ for feeding, called radula. They are usually dioecious and oviparous with indirect development.

Important classes of Phylum Mollusca

Class- Gastropoda 

  • Example: Pila (Apple snail), Murex, Snail
Class Pelecypoda 

Pinctada (Pearl oysters)

  • Example: Freshwater mussel, Pinctada (Pearl oysters), Teredo, Mytilus
Class Cephalopoda

Sepia (Cuttle fish)

  •  Example: Octopus (Devil fish), Sepia (Cuttle fish) and Loligo (Squid)

Class Scaphopoda

  •  Example: Dentalium (Tusk shell)

Previous Post Next Post