Kingdom Protista (Gr. Protistas - first of all)  includes unicellular and colonial eukaryotic, auotrophic and heterotrophic organisms. They are broadly divided into three groups: photosynthetic protists (protistan algae), slime moulds  (myxomycetes) and protozoans protists.

General Characters of Kingdom Protista and Classification
Example of Protozoa (Protista)
1. Example of Photosynthetic Protists: Photosythetic protists are photoautotrophic like diatoms, dinoflagellates and euglenoids.
  • Dinoflagellates: Ceratium, Glendinium, Gymnodinium and Gonyaulax.
  • Diatoms:  Navicula,  Nitzchia,  Melosira, Cymbella and Pinnularia.
  • Euglenoids: Euglena, Phacus, Peranema and Eutreptia.
Examples of Protozoa
    2. Example of Slime moulds: Slime moulds exists in two types: cellular and acellular. 
       Physarum and Physarella.

    3. Example of Protozoan Protists
    Amoeba, Entamoeba, Giardia, Plasmodium, Paramecium,  Leishmania   and Trypanosoma.
    Previous Post Next Post