Accordingly the nitrogenous excretion is grouped into following three categories. Ammonia, Urea and uric acid are the main nitrogenous waste product in different animals.
a) Example of Ammonotelic animals :

Protozoans (Amoeba, Paramecium), Sponges, Cnidarians, Liver fluke, Tapeworm, Nereis, Leech, Earthworm. Prawn, Pila, Bony fishes, Salamanders, Amphibian tadpoles and crocodiles.
b) Example of Ureotelic animals:
Ascaris, Earthworm, cartilaginous fishes (Rays and Sharks), frogs, toads, turtles, alligators, mammals (Humans).

c)Example of Uricotelic animals:
Most insects(Cockroach), most land crustaceans, land snails (Helix), land reptiles(snakes and lizards),  and birds.
*Ascaris, Earthworm (Both are Ammonotelic and Ureotelic)
Previous Post Next Post