On the basis of the presence or absence of endosperm both Dicotyledonous and Monocotyledon seeds are endospermic and non endospermic. If the seed has a large amount of endosperm as a result of its larger synthesis or less utilization until the seed germinates, it is called endospermic or albuminous seed. In such seeds cotyledons are usually smaller and less developed. If the seed uses up most or all of the endosperm much before germination, the seed becomes non endospemouic  or exalbuminous. In such cases the food materials are then stored in cotyledons which become larger.
Bean seed and Corn seed
Thus following categories are usually known:-
1) Endospermous Monocotyledonous:
  • Zea mays (Maize)
  • Triticum vulgare (Wheat)
  • Barley
  • Oryza sativa (Rice)
  • Onion
2) Endospermous Dicotyledonous
  • Ricinus communis (Castor)
  • Gossypium herbaceum (Cotton)
  • Coffee
3) Non Endospermous Monocotyledonous
  • Pothos sp
  • Vallisnaria sp
4) Non Endospermous Dicotyledonous
  • Pisum sativum (Pea)
  • Phaselous vulgaris (Bean)
  • Gram
  • Bean, Mango, Tamarind, Jack fruit, Mustard, Sunflower
أحدث أقدم